24w 5d– Lots of catching up to do… Part the first

A lot has been happening here, and I’ve been bad about keeping up this blog.

So, let’s back up to my routine visit with the perinatal doc on 8/29 (22w4d). This was an in-between visit to check my cervix, and make sure that it was holding up to the now 1lb+ baby. This was also the first visit I went to by myself, as the hubs is happily working at his new teaching job (7th grade history!). Oh, an my regular peri was having her baby on this day, so I was seeing an associate of hers for the first time. I should have known something would go wrong, lol! Well, the ultrasound showed that my cervix had shortened from 3.0+cm to 2.2 over the course of two weeks. This was NOT a Good Thing. The doctor explained Incompetent Cervix to me (is that one of the stupidest sounding diagnoses, or what!?), and then she listed out my options– 1. I could have a progesterone shot (17P) and then go home on Modified Bed Rest for the next week, and then recheck to see how it was doing, or 2. I could have the 17P shot and go to the hospital to have a Cervical Cerclage placed to hold the cervix shut, and then still do the bed rest until the next week. I felt that I needed to research and weigh what was happening, so I opted for option one. Stan (the hubby) picked me up from the appointment, and I went home to Google and cry.  Research showed me that the cerclage needed to be put in before the 24th week, and that it had a decent success rate, so the next day I called the office and the scheduled the surgery for the next day.

The surgery involved an epidural, so I could have nothing by mouth for 8 hours prior– this led to spectacularly low blood sugar (61), and an early admission for me, so that they could get an IV and some dextrose into me. The epidural sucked (I’ve had one before this, and it sucked too), but the anesthesiologist was amazing (Dr. Dempsey for those in the Vegas area). The surgery was… interesting. I was on the operating table, with my legs in the stirrups,  and the table tilted back to a 45 degree angle.

Like this, but without the supportive boot, and of course, I was naked from the waist down…

My peri did the surgery, and she informed me that I had a “difficult cervix”– I would expect nothing less from my cervix. She ended up putting in two very thick stitches. Surgery went well. I had no contractions, and my amniotic sac remained intact– yay! I was able to get a sandwich in recovery and lots of apple juice, and about 3 hours later I could feel all of my parts and use the potty, so they let me go home. I was kept on modified bed rest and pelvic rest (read: No sex, and no orgasms. Yep, you read that right– no orgasms until after The Spawn makes his appearance). The doctor also switched me from the 17P injections to a vaginal progesterone  suppository that has been shown to lower cervical elasticity and help prolong the pregnancy.

Recovery went well, with very little pain and only a small amount of discharge. I’ll continue this saga with my next post…

3 Responses to “24w 5d– Lots of catching up to do… Part the first”

  1. […] Knocked up!? my thoughts and experiences spawning at forty-two « 24w 5d– Lots of catching up to do… Part the first […]

  2. […] that rapid growth is  not sitting well with my incompetent cervix. Last week, my post-surgical measurement was 2.5cm (a gain of .3 cm!), this week it was down to […]

  3. […] timeline really hit home this week. If all continues to go well, I will have the stitches removed around the 5th of December, and there is a good chance that the Spawn will arrive within […]

Leave a Reply

