Cerclage Recovery and Bed Rest

Ok, so the last post brings us up to 23 weeks. The week went fairly well as I hung out in my recliner and attempted to get the prescribed 1-2 Gallons of water into me. I hit 24 weeks on that Saturday, and had a friend coming over to given Stan a massage (the man has been sooooo wonderful, taking care of work, me, and the house!). While I wasn’t up a great deal, it was definitely more than the 10-or-so minutes that I’m allowed per trip, and I ended up spotting a little bit, which freaked me right the hell out! I haven’t had a single incident of spotting this whole pregnancy, so this was really scary. I called the on-call doctor, and he assured me that everything was OK (not optimal, but not an emergency since I wasn’t contracting), and instructed me to stay off my feet until my next visit on the following Wed (Yesterday). I definitely complied, and there was no more spotting.

After a week on modified bed rest, I was rapidly learning just how much bed rest sucks. I haven’t had anything resembling an attention span this whole pregnancy (unmedicated ADHD FTW!), and as such, I haven’t been able to focus on reading, or writing, or really anything productive. I spend an inordinant amount of time on Facebook playing all manner of bubble games and I watch TV. And I twitch. A lot. I am, however, grateful that I’m not on Strict Bed Rest, and can at least get up for short periods of time to get food and go potty.

I also know that I’m doing what’s best for Seth, and doing whatever I can to keep him in until it’s A LOT safer for him to be out in the real world.

Leave a Reply

